Previously, the IRS announced that it extended relief to taxpayers in several Kentucky counties which were affected by severe weather earlier this spring.  Now, the Kentucky Department of Revenue has announced that it will also allow for the automatic extension of tax returns of those impacted by the severe weather.

As with the Federal declaration, residents or businesses whose principal place of business is located within the Kentucky counties of Bath, Bourbon, Carter, Elliott, Franklin, Jefferson, Lawrence, Madison, Rowan and Scott are eligible for the Kentucky relief provisions.

Eligible taxpayers who had an original or extended filing or payment deadline occurring between April 2, 2015 and July 31, 2015 now have until July 31, 2015 to timely file or make a tax payment; this includes individual, corporate, trust, estate, gift, partnership, S-corporation and non-profit annual income tax returns and estimated tax filings, including the April 15 individual tax deadline.  The Kentucky Department of Revenue has also announced it will waive the penalties for employment tax deposits due on or after April 2, and on or before April 17, as long as the deposits were made by April 17, 2015.

For more information, read the original IRS publication.  Additionally, if you have any questions concerning the filing of a return or tax payments, contact the Kentucky Department of Revenue’s Office of Income Tax at 502-564-4581.

For further assistance, please contact your Dean Dorton representative or Justin Shelman at or Mike Harbold at